Tags

, , , , , , ,

Photography has never been my strong point alas

image

As you can tell, this is just a demonstration of how bad my pictures can be. When I was living in LA I thought I would take a photo of one of the many parrot that fly about, so sat on my roof, camera in hand clicking away like I’m a professional and completely missed the Eagle thats landed and is sat directly above the parrot I was taking a picture of, you can see part of it just not the important parts.

Why this odd conversion about parrots on a sewing blog?

Good question.

I took the plunge over the weekend and set up and opened an etsy shop selling my bunting and mice, now I’m never one to blow my own trumpet I don’t even own a trumpet let alone have cause to blow down it in triumphant glory. But I think the things I make are good, more importantly the other half lets me put them on her stall and she has serious quality control procedures in place.

Imagine if you will the most hard hearted drill instructor who has an almost psychotic obsession with neatness*

* This neatness only manifests itself on the stall

image

Bundled into a very sweet very pretty woman who can spot a loose thread at 300 yards, a catnip mouse pointing in the wrong direction at a quarter mile and if I make the error of putting one of her cushions upside down on the stall I could see the smoke signals of anger rising from over the horizon (I hid under a table)

So it’s stringent and she is happy to let my meagre offering onto her stall, we have done some large festivals and markets in central London and your makings have to be good.

I’m proud of what I make so I spent hours setting up etsy and PayPal linking my bank accounts and taking photos.

This is where it went wrong.

As previously mentioned I can’t use a camera but I thought it was ok.

Now I learned this weekend that there is a world of difference between what I think is ok and what the other half thinks is ok.

image

This is a picture my son drew of me, I love it, each time I see it I smile and have happy thoughts, but I am the first to admit it isn’t the greatest if you are talking from an artistic point of view, that’s how I feel about my etsy shop. A child playing in the adult world.

I have had reasonable success on the stalls selling what I make so thought I would turn the shop on and sit back letting the orders flow in looking like the cat who got the cream.

Ye right.

I look and feel like the cat who got neutered.

image

35 views.

35!

I was expecting some kind of triumphal possession through the living room as the orders clog my inbox and the post office need to take on more staff to cope with my level of postage.

But 35 views!

And the worst of it?

That smug ‘I told you so look’ but she will help me over the week to put it right but what retribution she will ask for is anyones guess.

I almost ordered a catnip mouse from my own etsy shop just to make me feel better.

But the truth is the photos make the shop.

Unfortunately owning a camera doesn’t make you into a photographer.

Take a look.

Don’t laugh!

Plus I’ve still not cut the shirt out.

http://etsy.me/1rkGpaR